The semester is just about over, and while I should be regrouping, catching up on sleep and spending time with the ones I love, I’ve decided instead to take on a short term engagement doing design research, information architecture reviews, and wireframes for the corporate site at Carnegie Mellon.  They are interested in doing something that brings a sense of agency to the experience of interacting with the site, and I’m interested how we can use narratives to connect corporations to faculty members who are doing some pretty interesting research.  I did similar work for the office of sponsored research earlier this year and enjoyed the opportunity to put my design research methods to work.

Tis the season for job searching as well.  I’m resigned to the fact that I’m not going to have an easy path.  I’m not a pure interaction designer, and when I describe the work I do as an experience designer, the interviewer usually wants to veer down a heavy marketing/PR path.  So I’ve got a lot of poking and prodding, looking for something that combines storytelling, interaction design, experiences, and the role of audience as creating emergent narratives.

It’s out there.  I can feel it.  But until it feels me back, I’m going to tinker with the interwebs.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

